Dog Days of Coding

Some days I just don’t feel like coding. I don’t have the gumption to write more than a couple basic programs. I can’t bring myself to do more than complete a couple HackerRank puzzles, watch some Udacity lessons, or listen to some edX lectures. On these days I feel a little more like a failure. On these days I have to remind myself that everyone has these days.

To me that is the beauty in the emergence of online learning. While the number of resources is overwhelming at times, it allows me to find something suitable for where I’m at academically and emotionally. Some days a browser with code just doesn’t cut it (think freeCodeCamp or Codecademy). I need more engagement.

Two decades of traditional learning has reinforced in me the need for a lecture. As a hands-on learner, I sometimes need a lecturer to logically walk me through their thought process in approaching a problem. Hear, see, do. The traditional classroom lecture still has its benefits for me and I have found these to still be present in online education.

And let me be totally honest. Some days I just need stories from my peers. Success stories. I’m a fraud stories. Zero to sixty, crash and burn stories. Today, this post is my catharsis.

Leave a Reply

